Hedera networks are comprised of two types of nodes: Consensus and Mirror nodes. The Hedera mainnet consensus nodes are currently permissioned; operated by the Hedera Governing Council. Consensus nodes receive transactions from clients, charge transaction fees, and contribute to consensus being achieved. Mirror nodes are permisionless, and store the history of transactions for optimized queries. Mirror nodes do not submit transactions to the network from clients nor do they participate in consensus.